What is C-ACC?

From the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, What is Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum?
Agenesis of the corpus callosum (ACC) is a birth defect in which the structure that connects the two hemispheres of the brain (the corpus callosum) is partially or completely absent. ACC can occur as an isolated condition or in combination with other cerebral abnormalities
The effects of the disorder range from subtle or mild to severe, depending on associated brain abnormalities. Intelligence may be normal with mild compromise of skills requiring matching of visual patterns. But children with the most severe brain malformations may have intellectual retardation, seizures, hydrocephalus, and spasticity.

Not having a corpus callosum, I’ve realized a lot of things. Now there’s a reason why I have no balance or coordination! Well, that is besides my plethora of meds! I am forever grateful that things like mapquest, GPS, Garmin, etc were created. Due to not having the above, I have no sense of direction for even short distances. Thank you Tulsa for being on a grid. I understood that city right away!

For me, some of the above is true. I have very little ability to recognize visual patterns, or which should come next, etc. In doing research for this post I found this site

http://www.nobelprize.org/educational/medicine/split-brain/splitbrainexp.html

This is about people without any corpus callosum or missing a part of it. I also use Luminosity, although I am not on it enough to have any real progress. I make no real progress  in Candy Crush, which is just as good a gauge of visual patterns as anything else, and refuse to pay for something so silly.

Recently on another site I saw parents discussing their kids W sitting. I had no idea this was related to C-ACC. Sitting cross legged, or criss cross apple sauce as kids say now, was so painful for me, I sat with my legs behind me for years. I was also a very late walker, (about 2.5) all related to this condition, but everyone assumed I just wanted to be held.

What is your experience with this condition? Partial or full? I want to know!

4 thoughts on “What is C-ACC?

  1. Pingback: What is C-ACC? | thegamesmybrainplays

  2. I have Partial ACC I’m 25 years old. I’ve known since my mom told me at age 6-7 I am on all the ACC groups if you want to chat sometime please let me know. your blog is well written but if I were writing this I would also include some videos from the doctors in California that research ACC. best of luck lets talk soon.

    Christine Seidel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

